Memorial Holiday


I started the long weekend of right. Saturday near noon I opened a growler of Olde Saratoga IPA! We had the grandson “little badass” so I keep it to a minimum so we could drop him off with his mother when she got out of work early that evening.

After dropping off little badass we made a stop at the Brewmaster’s tavern in Williamsburg for dinner and brews. This would be our first time visiting this place; we have been to their sister brewery Opa Opa in Southampton many times. We ordered light food fair and I had the Belgium White and Buckwheat IPA which is one of my favorites and all were excellent! Our waitperson was Kate and she made our visit very enjoyable. We filled our two growlers with the IPA for me and the better half likes the Raspberry Wheat then we returned to the camper.

Sunday after breakfast and coffee I eyed a Lagunitas Little Sumpin Sumpin Ale in the refrigerator that called out me at 64 IBU and 7.5% it hit the spot. I had planned on returning home for 9 ball playoffs that evening. So we had a late lunch and washed it down with Harpoon IPA from their new cans. With everything that was trying to make the long weekend seem short “9-ball and little badass on Monday cause his mom had to work”. We made a stop at Four Main Street on the way home to see what was new on tap and the wife had an ankle bracelet with chimes to give Shannon one of the bartender/staff that treat us very well, and she was very happy to see us and for her gift. The wife tried the Harpoon Pumpkin and I had to try the aged BBC Maibock that John the owner was saving. I have to say that it was not what I was expecting! It was on the sour side like it had turned but the sweet malt and spice along with some nice hoppy mouth was very good!

Now it’s Monday the last day of the long weekend. With remnants of the storm Lee about to hit us! I tried to talk the little badass into helping do some yard work but he declined “I think I worked him to hard the last time”. So I opened the growler of Opa Opa buckwheat IPA and had at the yard work maybe that’s why they called it Labor Day? Well that growler put a nice end to a hectic but great Holiday.

IMAG0032IMAG0293IMAG0296IMAG0302IMAG0322IMAG0057

Leave a Reply

